ITIL Continual Service Improvement | ITIL Certification Training ITIL Continual Service Improvement | ITIL Certification Training


ITIL Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

ITIL CSI 2011 is comprised of five core publications: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operations and Continual Service Improvement, promoting alignment with the business as well as improving operational efficiency. The official ITIL qualification scheme describes two streams, the Service Lifecycle Stream and the Service Capability stream.The Service Lifecycle stream focuses on ITIL 2011 practices within the Service Lifecycle context. The prime focus is the Lifecycle itself as well as the use of process and practice elements used within it. The Service Capability stream is for those who wish to obtain an in depth understanding of ITIL 2011 processes and roles. Attention to the Service Lifecycle is illustrated as part of the curriculum but the primary focus is the on the process activities, execution and use throughout the Service Lifecycle. The ITIL 2011 CSI course is part of the ITIL 2011 Intermediate Lifecycle certification stream. This CSI course prepares candidates to take the ITIL 2011 Continual Service Improvement Intermediate exam as well as proving valuable knowledge that can be implemented in the workplace.


  • Review, analyze and make recommendations on improvement opportunities in each lifecycle phase.
  • Identify & implement individual activities to improve IT service quality and improve the efficiency and effectiveness of enabling ITSM processes.
  • Improve cost effectiveness of delivering IT services without sacrificing customer satisfaction.
  • Ensure applicable quality management methods are used to support continual improvement activities.
  • The purpose and objectives of Continual Service Improvement
  • How Continual Service Improvement integrates with the stages in the Lifecycle
  • How Continual Service Improvement depends upon an understanding of change within an organization
  • The nature of the activities and the skills required for the 7 step improvement process
  • How tools can assist some or all of the activities in the Continual Service Improvement process
  • The effects on an organization of the challenges facing Continual Service Improvement

Intended Audience

CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff, team leaders, designers, architects, planners, IT consultants, IT audit managers and IT security managers who require a detailed understanding of the ITIL Continual Service Improvement phase of the ITIL Lifecycle as well as the processes, functions and activities required to apply them.


An ITIL 2011 Foundation certificate and preferably two years work experience in an IT Service Management environment.

Course Outline

  1. ITIL Continual Service Improvement: Introduction and Overview
  2. Goals and scope of CSI
    • The purpose and objectives of CSI
    • Embedding CSI into organizational processes
    • Explaining how CSI creates business value
  3. CSI approach
  4. Asking the right business questions to ensure that a CSI initiative is warranted
  5. Illustrating the interfaces to other ITIL lifecycle stages
  6. Principles of Continual Service Improvement
  7. Establishing accountability
    • Defining unambiguous ownership and roles
    • Supporting the application of CSI with the CSI register
    • CSI and service level management Providing adequate governance
    • Knowledge management as a main element in any improvement initiative
    • Implementing and applying CSI with the Deming Cycle
    • Service measurement
    • Ensuring effective governance with CSI
    • Supporting CSI with frameworks, models, standards and quality systems
  8. The Seven-Step Improvement Process
  9. Determining what to measure
    • Defining what you should measure: measurements that fully support the goals of the organization
    • Defining what you can measure
    • Conducting gap analysis to identify what can be measured Gathering the data
    • Processing the data to provide end-to-end perspective on service and/or process performance
    • Analyzing the data: targets met, developing trends, corrective actions required, cost to fix
    • Presenting and using the information
    • Implementing corrective actions
    • Integrating CSI with the other lifecycle stages
  10. Methods and Techniques
  11. Activities for delivering CSI
    • Performing a gap analysis
    • Implementing benchmarking
    • Designing and analyzing service measurement frameworks
    • Creating a return on investment
    • Articulating service reporting
  12. Key metrics
    • Technology metrics
    • Process metrics (CSFs and KPIs)
    • Service metrics
    • Initiating a SWOT analysis
    • Measuring benefits to the business
  13. Supporting CSI activities
    • Availability management
    • Capacity management
    • IT service continuity management
    • Problem management
    • Knowledge management
  14. Organization and Technology Considerations
    • Defining roles and responsibilities: service owner, process owner, process manager, process practitioner
    • Choosing organizational structures that support CSI
    • Specifying tool requirements for implementation success
    • Automated incident and problem resolution
    • Statistical analysis tools and business intelligence and reporting
  15. Implementing Continual Service Improvement
  16. Key considerations
    • Analyzing where to start
    • Relating the role of governance
    • Determining the effect of organizational change
    • Constructing a communications strategy and plan
  17. Implementation challenges and risks
    • Establishing critical success factors and KPIs
    • Developing risk-benefit analyses for adoption of continual service improvement


The ITIL CSI exam is gradient, scenario based multi-choice. There are 8 questions to be completed in 90 minutes. Each question will have 4 possible answer options, one of which is worth 5 marks, one which is worth 3 marks, one which is worth 1 mark, and one which is a distracter and achieves no marks. The pass mark is 28 marks from 40 i.e. 70%.